About Us



Here and There 807

The Robert E. Lee Soil and Water Conservation District was organized on July 24, 1940, under the provisions of the Virginia Soil and Water Conservation Districts Law of 1938. The District was originally made up of the counties of Amherst, Appomattox, Campbell, Buckingham and Cumberland. It was reorganized in 1972, at which time the City of Lynchburg joined the District and Buckingham and Cumberland Counties withdrew to form a separate Soil and Water
Conservation District known as the Peter Francisco District. Amherst, Appomattox, Campbell Counties and the City of Lynchburg now make up the Robert E. Lee District.

The District covers an area of about 1385 square miles. Programs and initiatives are directed by a volunteer Board of Directors. Two Directors are elected to four-year terms from each of the the counties and the City of Lynchburg in the regular general elections. Two additional Directors are appointed; one serves as a Director at-large and the other represents Virginia Cooperative Extension. Associate Directors are also appointed by the Board for their expertise, as they apply to the District’s mission. Occupations of the current members of the Board include beef cattle and general agriculture, education, civil service, land development and environmental consulting.

The District’s Staff consists of an Office Administrator, Amherst Watershed Coordinator, ConservationEducation Specialist, Ag. BMP Conservation Specialist and a TMDL Ag.BMP Technician, with most of the staff operating out of an office in Appomattox, VA these offices are shared with the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Natural Resources Conservation Service. Office space for the District is also maintained at Sweet Briar College in Amherst, VA.

Responsibilities of the staff include:

  •  Administration of the Virginia Agricultural Cost Share Program
  • Coordination of the Amherst Watershed Protection Program
  • Environmental Education and Outreach
  • Administration of the TMDL cost-share program
  • Coordination of  District Operations
  • Operation and Maintenance of 6 Watershed Dams located in Appomattox & Campbell Counties

District meetings are held on the fourth Thursday of every month at 6 pm at the Spring House Restaurant in Concord, VA. (no meeting in December). The public are welcome to attend.